Bags, Bags, Bags!

I’m a member of a group of ladies who get together once a month on a Friday night to play bunco. I’ve been a part of the group for about 3 years now but I’ve always been an official substitute player. Out of 12 ladies, there’s always someone who can’t make it so I fill in the spot so we can still play 3 full tables in groups of 4. The regular members take turns hosting each month. One of the regular members was scheduled to host September but realized she can’t do it through the end of the year so I stepped in and took on hostess duty.

We pay in a small fee to play each time and the next month’s hostess uses the cash to purchase prizes for 6 various winnings and losings. The group has been going for about 10 or 12 years now so it gets tough to think of new and exciting prizes each time. When hostess duties fell upon me, I decided to do something I knew had never been done before – make all the prizes.

I decided upon bags because they’re a one-size-fits-all kind of gift for which everyone can find a use.

I started out with the three little prizes: all three identical tote bags made from very heavy cream and navy ticking (I’ll save you some photo-loading time by not posting three identical pictures!)

DSC_0935

Then was the “Most Losses” prize: a chevron handbag with a shabby chic canvas strap insert and flower.

DSC_0932

Next up, the “Most Wins” prize: a striped beach tote on which I played with the stripe directions for a professional effect.

DSC_0936

And finally, the big daddy prize, “Most Buncos”: an over-sized sailboat beach tote with rope handles through giant grommets.

DSC_0930

I was so jealous of this one that I was secretly hoping the entire night that I would win my own handiwork, but alas, it went to someone else.

The bags were a huge hit with the entire group, though. The girls were lining up to place orders for more but I declined in my current state of maternity and fatigue. However, I do see one of those sailboat totes in my future. I just need to make it back to the Hancock fabrics in the next town before that fabric is gone with the summer sun!

 

2 thoughts on “Bags, Bags, Bags!

Leave a Reply

