Completed: Thurlow Skirt

DSC_0719

Ta-da! I turned the Sewaholic Thurlow Trousers into a button-down pencil skirt! I adore the fit and construction of the waistband and front pockets on the Thurlows so I decided to borrow them to make a pencil skirt. I’m not a fan of high-waisted skirts and that seems to be what every pencil skirt pattern out there has.

DSC_0710

Plus, my wide hips, thighs, and butt don’t get along well with the standard pencil skirt silhouette.

DSC_0712

Thurlows leave that fabulous waistband extension in the back for adjusting the difference between the waist and hips perfectly. That means that I can actually sit down in this thing without busting a seam! Hurray!

DSC_0715

I’m not gonna lie, this thing took a lot of redrafting to make it work. I had to figure out at which points to remove the allowances for the fly and fly facings then add back on for the button band and facing. I had to adjust the waistband length to accommodate the new button band as well. Oh, and add a hair to the side of the pocket, pocket facing, and pocket lining to make it all work out. I also had to figure out the point at the back where the skirt should stop curving inward like a crotch seam and start going straight downward for the skirt. That last part took a little fiddling and adjusting after sewing. At first I had the tiniest little tail sticking out that had to be amputated!

 

DSC_0721

I also adjusted the silhouette several times. I started drafting this for a pencil skirt, then at the last second changed my mind and cut it for an A-line skirt. Once it was half assembled, I serged off 8″ total to make it straight again. Finally, after it was done and I tried it on for my husband he said it needed to peg inward at the bottom more. I took a look in the mirror and agreed. I picked out the simple turned-and-stitched hem and serged another 1-1/2″ off each side for about 6″ more narrow. I do love the lines of it now. Any narrower and I would have to waddle.

I obviously used the butterfly denim and daisy lining left over from my scalloped Thurlows. I finished it off with 9 light blue vintage buttons from my stash. They were a perfect color match to the butterflies. I like that they don’t jump out as a contrast but they’re defined enough from the dark background to notice them.

I layered it up with my “sweater” tights today along with an actual sweater early this morning. Absolutely perfect for transitional seasons. It’s a little snug for ascending stairs and not too conducive to sitting cross-legged on the floor with the kids, but I love it anyway! I know I’m going to get a ton of wear out of this skirt.

7 thoughts on “Completed: Thurlow Skirt

  1. Pingback: Completed: Corduroy Skirt | Vint Hill Vintage

  2. Pingback: Tutorial: Securing Serger Thread Tails | Vint Hill Vintage

  3. Pingback: Completed: Red Cords | Vint Hill Vintage

  4. Pingback: Not-So-Smarty Pants by Vint Hill Vintage | The Monthly Stitch

Leave a Reply

